Pennsylvania Assault Defense Lawyers
 

Pennsylvania and New Jersey Assault Attorneys

In Pennsylvania and New Jersey alike, assault is a serious criminal offense.  If you are convicted of committing assault, aggravated assault, or other assault-related crimes, you could be facing harsh penalties, including jail or prison time and hundreds or thousands of dollars in fines.  If an assault is recorded on your criminal record, it will be visible to potential employers and landlords for years to come.  This means that long after your jail or prison sentence has been completed, you could continue paying the price well into the future.

An assault conviction can deprive you of your freedom and force you to pay expensive restitution fines.  It can also damage your reputation, your ability to find employment, and even your personal relationships and self-esteem.  If you or a loved one is facing allegations of felony or misdemeanor assault, it is crucial to your success that you act rapidly.  Call Young, Marr & Associates at (609) 257-4019 in New Jersey or (215) 372-8667 in Pennsylvania today.

Arrested Teenager With Handcuffs

Experienced Defense

If you are facing assault charges in Pennsylvania or New Jersey, it is critical to the course of your trial and your future that you retain the services of an experienced assault attorney. At Young, Marr & Associates, our criminal defense lawyers have more than 30 years of experience providing aggressive and affordable legal representation to individuals facing a wide variety of assault charges.  Over the course of more than three decades, our seasoned legal team has handled over 10,000 criminal cases throughout numerous counties, cities, and towns in New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

We have extensive experience handling both misdemeanor and felony assault charges involving matters of:

  • Aggravated Assault
  • Assault and Battery
  • Assault with a Deadly Weapon
  • Domestic Violence Assault
  • Sexual Assault
  • Simple Assault

Wooden gavel

Pennsylvania Assault Attorneys

While the legal penalties for assault convictions are generally harsh, their details do vary between jurisdictions.  Furthermore, assault penalties vary by specific charge.  (For example, the penalties for assault with a deadly weapon will be different from those for an assault with no weapon, regardless of geographic location.)

There are two basic categories of assault:

  1. Simple Assault
  2. Aggravated Assault

Simple assault in Pennsylvania is handled by Title 18, Chapter 27, Section 2701 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes.  Under Section 2701, it is simple assault if an individual:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes physical injury.
  • Attempts or threatens to cause physical injury.
  • Negligently causes injury with a deadly weapon.

Pennsylvania aggravated assault is handled by Section 2702.  Aggravated assault involves:

  • Intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing serious physical injury.
  • Knowingly causing injury with a deadly weapon.
  • Committing simple assault against a police officer, firefighter, court official, attorney, or member of government.

Aggravated assault is a more serious offense, and comes with more serious consequences.

Simple Assault Penalties in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, simple assault is typically considered a 2nd Degree Misdemeanor.  The maximum penalties for a 2nd Degree Misdemeanor in Pennsylvania include:

  • Imprisonment: 2 years
  • Fines: $5,000

Aggravated Assault Penalties in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, aggravated assault can be either a 2nd Degree Felony or a 1st Degree Felony.  The maximum penalties for a 1st Degree Felony in Pennsylvania include:

  • Imprisonment: 20 years
  • Fines: $25,000

Decorative Scales Of Justice In The Courtroom

New Jersey Assault Attorneys

Simple assault and aggravated assault are both taken very seriously by the New Jersey criminal justice system.  Just as in Pennsylvania, aggravated assault results in more extensive penalization than simple assault.

Simple Assault Penalties in New Jersey

Unlike Pennsylvania, New Jersey utilizes a crime-grading system of DP (Disorderly Persons) offenses, and indictable crimes.  DP offenses are the equivalent of misdemeanors, while indictable crimes are equivalent to felonies in other states.

In New Jersey, simple assault is typically categorized as DP offense.  The maximum penalties for a New Jersey simple assault DP offense include:

  • Imprisonment: 6 months in jail
  • Fines: $1,000

Aggravated Assault Penalties in New Jersey

Aggravated assault can be a 4th, 3rd, 2nd, or 1st Degree indictable crime in New Jersey. The maximum penalties for a 1st Degree indictable crime include:

  • Imprisonment: 20 years in prison
  • Fines: $200,000

If you or someone you love has been accused of committing simple assault, aggravated assault, gang assault, assault with a deadly weapon, or any other type of assault, the legal penalties can be life-altering.  To arrange for a free and confidential case evaluation with a highly experienced New Jersey or Pennsylvania assault lawyer, contact the criminal defense law firm of Young, Marr & Associates online today.  You can also call us at (609) 257-4019 in New Jersey or (215) 372-8667 in Pennsylvania.

[]
1 Step 1
Request A Free Consultation
Your Nameyour full name
Telephoneyour full name
Where did this occur (city / state)?
Brief description of casemore details
0 /
Previous
Next
powered by FormCraft