Pennsylvania DUI Defense Lawyer - Young Marr & Associates
 

Pennsylvania DUI Defense Lawyer

DUI Defense Attorneys in Pennsylvania

If you have been arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs, it is critical that you act quickly to retain legal representation that will fight to reduce the damage to your personal and professional reputation, a repercussion of a DUI conviction.

The legal team at Young, Marr and Associates has extensive experience in defending even the most serious of DUI/DUID offenses. We can explain the charges against you in a way that you’ll understand, something that’s difficult to do with all the legal jargon. We can also advise you on the best course of action based on the circumstances that led to your arrest.

You may not even know your rights or whether or not they’ve been violated, so it’s crucial you have someone who will stand by you and assure you’re treated with the respect you deserve.

DUI Law

In Pennsylvania, a person can be charged with DUI for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or street drug. For drivers under the age of 21, lower DUI thresholds apply. For instance, a BAC of .02 results in a DUI charge.

A DUI or DUID charge can result in:

  • up to 30 days in jail
  • 3-month license suspension
  • at least 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • a $1000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
  • a $250 – $500 fine
  • a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge
  • a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
  • a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
  • a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
  • a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50

While jail time and license suspension aren’t usually an issue for first-time offenders in Pennsylvania for those with a BAC less than .10%, offenders can expect a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, attending alcohol safety school, and other treatments or penalties may be imposed.

Also in Pennsylvania is ARD, a program unique to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and designed to spare first-time offenders, who are unlikely to repeat their offense.

Completion of the ARD program results in the dismissal of charges and provides you with a clean criminal history. The District Attorney has final say in who can participate in an ARD program, but generally you must have a clean record and no previous ARD participation within the last 10 years. Further, a minor under the age of 14 cannot have been a passenger nor can a third party have suffered injury or death.

In some instances, the facts may dictate that you should fight the charges against you, so it’s important not to agree to any program, despite its benefits.

With Young, Marr and Associates on your side, you can rest assured you have the best criminal defense team working to reduce or entirely dismiss the charges against you.

Call us now if you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI or DUID. Talking to the police about your charge or charges can only make matters worse. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and we make emergency jail or holding center visits. We also offer free consultations.

You can reach one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys by filling out the available form or by calling (215) 372-8667

[]
1 Step 1
Request A Free Consultation
Your Nameyour full name
Telephoneyour full name
Where did this occur (city / state)?
Brief description of casemore details
0 /
Previous
Next
powered by FormCraft