Pennsylvania Robbery and Theft Defense Lawyers
 

Pennsylvania and New Jersey Robbery and Theft Attorneys

Theft and robbery charges are serious.  A conviction of theft in New Jersey or Pennsylvania can result in long prison sentences, and incredibly harsh financial penalties.  A criminal record of theft can lead to difficulties in obtaining employment and housing, and can even damage the way you are perceived and trusted by your own friends and family.

If you are facing allegations of theft, it is absolutely critical that reach out to an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as you can.  Prosecuting attorneys are trained to overwhelm defendants with aggressive tactics: it simply isn’t a fair fight to face the prosecution on your own.  Call Young, Marr & Associates today at (609) 257-4019 in New Jersey or (215) 372-8667 in Pennsylvania to schedule your free, confidential case evaluation.

a man wearing a suit, with handcuffs in his wrists

Theft Defense Attorneys

If you or someone you know has been accused of committing theft, it is simply not in your best interests to argue your own case against a trained, knowledgeable prosecuting attorney.  However, you can level the playing field and give yourself the best possible chance at in-trial success by retaining the assistance of a seasoned theft attorney to defend your case.

At Young, Marr & Associates, we can:

  1. Provide you with the most aggressive and results-oriented theft defense possible.
  2. Help you alleviate or even abolish any theft penalties.
  3. Deal with court fines and other issues stemming from your arrest.

If you are facing criminal charges, you have enough stress on your mind.  Let our attorneys help lift your burden with our experience, knowledge, and compassion.

Types of Theft Charges We Handle

In Pennsylvania and New Jersey alike, theft is a broad charge with encompasses a variety of theft-related offenses.  Our theft attorneys handle the full spectrum of theft-related charges, including:

  • Identity Theft
  • DP (Disorderly Person)/Petty DP and Indictable Theft (New Jersey)
  • Misdemeanor and Felony Theft (Pennsylvania)
  • Shoplifting
  • Embezzlement
  • Burglary

Man putting money in suit jacket pocket concept for corruption,

Theft Classification and Penalties

New Jersey and Pennsylvania handle crime classification with different language, though the idea of classification based on severity is the same.  In New Jersey, theft offenses are divided into disorderly person (DP) (or “petty”) crimes, and indictable crimes.  These terms are analogous to the more commonly-known felony and misdemeanor classifications, which Pennsylvania applies.  Depending on the seriousness of the offense, a theft can be classified as either DP/petty/misdemeanor, or indictable/felony.

It’s important to note that not only is committing theft considered a theft crime, but also receiving stolen goods.  Theft can apply to property or services (e.g. stealing cable), in New Jersey and Pennsylvania alike.

Theft in New Jersey

The severity of a theft classification is determined mainly based on the value of what was stolen.

  • Value:  Up to $199
  • Classification:  DP Offense/Petty Theft
  • Maximum Sentence:  Six months
  • Maximum Fine:  $1,000
  • Value:  $200-$500
  • Classification:  4th Degree crime
  • Maximum Sentence:  18 months
  • Maximum Fine:  $10,000
  • Value:  $501-$74,999
  • Classification:  3rd Degree crime
  • Maximum Sentence:  Five years
  • Maximum Fine:  $15,000
  • Value:  $75,000 or higher
  • Classification:  2nd Degree crime
  • Maximum Sentence:  10 years
  • Maximum Fine:  $150,000

brown gavel on the table on a brown background

It should also be noted that there are circumstances in which factors besides the value of the object of theft can also influence the classification which a theft offense is given.  For example, regardless of the value involved, theft is a 3rd Degree crime when the property is: 

  • A gun, motor vehicle, or pet.
  • Less than one kilogram of a scheduled substance.
  • A public record.
  • A blank prescription slip.

Regardless of the value involved, theft is a 2nd Degree crime when the property is:

  • Taken through extortion.
  • More than one kilogram of a scheduled substance.
  • Human remains.

Theft in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, crimes of theft are either misdemeanor offenses, or felony offenses.  Again, the predominant factor in classification is value of the property stolen, but as in New Jersey, additional factors can come into play.

  • Value:  $50-$199
  • Classification:  2nd Degree Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Sentence:  Two years
  • Maximum Fine:  $5,000
  • Value:  $200-$2,000
  • Classification:  1st Degree Misdemeanor
  • Maximum Sentence:  Five years
  • Maximum Fine:  $10,000
  • Value:  $2,001 and higher
  • Classification:  3rd Degree Felony
  • Maximum Sentence:  Seven years
  • Maximum Fine:  $15,000

Theft as a 2nd Degree or 1st Degree Felony is determined not by financial value, but by outside factors.  For example, theft becomes a 2nd Degree Felony when:

  • The theft is committed during a disaster (war, or a natural disaster).
  • The property is a gun.

For a 2nd Degree Felony:

  • Maximum Sentence:  10 years
  • Maximum Fine:  $25,000

Theft Becomes a 1st Degree Felony when:

  • An individual receives a stolen gun, and is in the business of buying and selling stolen property (e.g. a black market arms dealer).

For a 1st Degree Felony:

  • Maximum Sentence:  20 years
  • Maximum Fine:  $25,000

If You Have Been Charged with Burglary or Theft

At Young, Marr and Associates, we bring more than three decades of criminal law experience as theft lawyers to the table.  With over 10,000 criminal cases’ worth of experience, we are committed to providing all of our clients with only the highest degree of dedication and research in order to aggressively and effectively represent each and every case.

If you are facing theft charges in New Jersey or Pennsylvania, you need to contact an experienced theft attorney immediately.  Contact our law offices online to arrange for a free and confidential attorney consultation today, or call (609) 257-4019 in New Jersey or (215) 372-8667 in Pennsylvania. 

[]
1 Step 1
Request A Free Consultation
Your Nameyour full name
Telephoneyour full name
Where did this occur (city / state)?
Brief description of casemore details
0 /
Previous
Next
powered by FormCraft