New Jersey Aggravated Assault Lawyer
If you have been arrested for aggravated assault in New Jersey, you should consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Compared to other types of assault charges, aggravated assault is among the most serious crimes a defendant can be accused of committing. An aggravated assault conviction can put a defendant in prison for years, cost many thousands of dollars, and have other consequences when it comes to employment, gun ownership, housing opportunities, military service, and more.
Make sure that you are working with a knowledgeable defense attorney who has extensive experience handling felony assault cases. At the law offices of Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates, we bring over 30 years of experience to every case we take on. We know the defenses, we know the strategies, and we know how to protect your rights. For a free legal consultation, contact us online today.
What is Aggravated Assault?
In New Jersey, aggravated assault is charged under N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b. Aggravated assault charges should not be confused with “simple” assault charges, which are based in other laws. In New Jersey, the simple assault statute is found at N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1a.
Aggravated assault is a more serious crime than simple assault due to the severity of the injuries involved. The legal definition of aggravated assault is also different from the definition of simple assault, which means that prosecutors have to prove a different set of facts for a defendant to be found guilty.
under N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1b(3), it is aggravated assault to “recklessly” inflict injury “with a deadly weapon.”
Aggravated Assault Felony Penalties: Sentencing and Fines
In New Jersey, the word “crime” or “indictable crime” indicates a felony. Instead of using the word “misdemeanor,” New Jersey uses the term “disorderly persons offense.”
Unlike simple assault, which is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey, aggravated assault is an indictable crime. That means there are severe penalties for defendants who are convicted, including prison time and debilitating fines.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in NJ
New Jersey enforces tougher penalties for aggravated assault than for simple assault. And, once again, there are different levels of penalties depending on how the crime is graded.
Aggravated assault can be classified as a fourth-degree crime, third-degree crime, or second-degree crime in New Jersey. Again, grading depends on the details specific to the offense.
The maximum penalties for a fourth-degree crime in New Jersey can include fines of up to $10,000, and up to 18 months (one and a half years) in prison. The penalty for a third-degree crime is more severe: a sentence as long as five years, and a fine as large as $15,000.
The most serious penalties can arise in cases where aggravated assault is graded as a crime of the second degree. In New Jersey, the criminal penalty for a second-degree crime can include a fine of up to $150,000, and up to a decade in prison.
Aggravated Assault Attorneys Serving New Jersey
The aggravated assault lawyers of Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates provide criminal defense representation New Jersey. Our trial attorneys represent adults and juveniles, including individuals who have been accused of violating probation or parole.
We know that you are feeling nervous and anxious about dealing with the legal system, and we will work tirelessly to protect and uphold your constitutional rights at every step of the way. To set up a free legal consultation about aggravated assault charges in New Jersey, call (609) 257-4019. Our phones are open 24 hours. Additionally, you can also contact us online.