New Jersey Simple Assault Lawyer
Simple assault is a serious criminal charge.If you were arrested for simple assault in New Jersey, you risk facing penalties like jail time, costly fines, loss of your gun privileges, and other consequences. Because of the grave penalties that can result from a simple assault conviction in either state, it is crucial to be represented by an experienced assault defense attorney. If you were arrested for assaulting someone in New Jersey, turn to the criminal defense firm of Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates for legal help.
At Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates, our defense lawyers have more than 30 years of experience handling simple assault charges in New Jersey. We understand the court system, we understand the tactics that prosecutors use, and we understand the potential defenses that can reduce your penalties. It may even be possible to have your case dismissed. For a free legal consultation, contact Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates online today.
What is Simple Assault?
Because of the word “simple,” simple assault might not sound like a serious offense. However, this could not be further from the truth. If you are found guilty of simple assault, not only will you receive harsh criminal penalties, you will also receive a criminal record, which can create major obstacles when you are looking for housing, employment, or loans.
Every state has its own laws defining simple assault. The New Jersey laws on simple assault are explained below.
Simple Assault in New Jersey
New Jersey’s definition of simple assault can be found at N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1(a). Simple assault in New Jersey occurs when a person:
- Recklessly or deliberately causes, or attempts to cause, injury
- Negligently injures someone with a deadly weapon
- Puts another person in fear of serious and imminent injury
Jail Time for Simple Assault
In New Jersey, offenses are sorted into three groups:
- Petty disorderly persons (DP) offenses
- Disorderly persons offenses
- Indictable offenses
DP and petty DP offenses are like misdemeanors in other states, while indictable offenses are equivalent to felonies. Petty DP offenses are less serious than DP offenses. Confusingly, DP and petty DP offenses are not considered crimes, but will nonetheless result in a criminal record, in addition to potential fines, jail time, and other serious consequences.
These categories are important because they impact the fines and sentences that may be imposed if the defendant is convicted. The penalties are explained in greater detail below.
New Jersey Simple Assault Penalties
The penalties for simple assault in New Jersey are listed under N.J.S.A. § 2C:12-1(a). New Jersey makes simple assault a lesser offense in cases where the participants mutually agreed to the fight. Under the statute, simple assault is normally treated as a disorderly persons offense, or misdemeanor, unless there was “mutual consent,” which makes simple assault a petty DP offense. Depending on how the crime is graded, simple assault penalties in New Jersey could include the following:
- For a petty disorderly persons offense, up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines
- For a disorderly persons offense, up to six months jail and $1,000 in fines
Simple Assault Defense Attorneys Serving New Jersey
Being arrested for simple assault can change the course of your future. Not only can you be incarcerated and separated from your loved ones – you can also be fined hundreds or thousands of dollars, be ordered to attend anger management classes, be ordered to pay restitution to the victim, and receive a criminal record.
Make sure you take action to defend yourself against these serious allegations. If you or one of your family members was charged with simple assault in New Jersey, contact the assault defense lawyers of Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates online for a free consultation. You can reach Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates by calling (609) 257-4019.