Bensalem, PA DUI Defense Lawyer
Being charged for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a stressful thing and you need someone on your team to ensure you understand the charges, someone who knows what strategic steps to take for your benefit, and someone who knows what your rights are and can explain them to you in a way that makes sense.
Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates is here for you. We have stood by thousands of DUI (Driving under the Influence) and DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) clients. Our experienced team will stand with you, analyze the evidence stacked against you, guide you through the process and ensure you get the best possible outcome available.
A DUI conviction can turn your life upside down and leave you with expensive fines, a suspended license, high insurance premiums, court-ordered classes, community service, without a job, struggling in your personal relationships or it could potentially land you in jail.
Don’t go through this alone.
DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, a person can be charged with DUI for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance or street drug. For underage drivers, lower DUI thresholds apply. For instance, in Pennsylvania a BAC of .02 results in a DUI charge.
Without proper representation, you could end up facing the strictest punitive action.
- up to 30 days in jail
- 3-month license suspension
- at least 12 hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- a $1000 insurance surcharge for 3 years
- a $250 – $500 fine
- a $100 Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund surcharge
- a $100 Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee
- a $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee
- a Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75
- a Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50
While jail time and license suspension aren’t usually an issue for first-time offenders in Pennsylvania for those with a BAC less than .10%, offenders can expect at least a $300 fine, up to 6 months of probation, attending alcohol safety school, and various other penalties.
Pennsylvania’s First Time Offender Program (ARD)
Also in Pennsylvania is ARD, a program unique to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and designed to spare first-time offenders, who are unlikely to repeat their offense.
Completion of the ARD program results in the dismissal of charges and provides you with a clean criminal history. The District Attorney has final say in who can participate in an ARD program, but generally you must have a clean record and no previous ARD participation within the last 10 years.
Further, a minor under the age of 14 cannot have been a passenger nor can a third party have suffered injury or death. Despite ARD’s benefits, you should consult with an experienced attorney before agreeing to any program. In some instances, the facts may dictate that you should fight the charges.
Our Bensalem, PA DUI Defense Attorneys Will Fight for You
Young, Marr, Mallis & Associates offers experienced and committed DUI representation. We work to reduce or entirely dismiss the charges against you. We have handled more than 5,000 DUI cases and more than 98 percent of our first-time DUI clients receive no jail time and walk away with no criminal record.
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI or drug-related crime, time is of the essence. Call us immediately and do not speak to the police. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We make emergency jail or holding center visits, and free consultations are available.
You can reach one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys by filling out the available form or by calling (215) 701-6519.